Daily Archives: December 2, 2010

Wednesday’s deep quotes, simple brain

While sitting in the media booth Wednesday at the city hall chamber, I couldn’t help but think what happened to November.

It’s suddenly December and there’s no escaping to that fact as the city is now dressed from the season.

Yup, since I came back from my winter holiday, the city hall is all decked, with Christmas trees, the creche by the men’s washroom and the little Christmas village.

Outside the building the bright lights signal that the season has arrived.

It’s so festive, no one can fail to notice it.

So, when you’re sitting in a boring budget debate – well it becomes lively and exciting occasionally when politicians throw colourful words and phrases at each other.

Sometimes I don’t understand what exactly they’re saying.

The idioms are too deep for my second-language understanding of English.

But one alderman made a reference to the writing of Samuel Beckett

“Ever tried? Ever failed? No matter. Try Again. Fail again. Fail better.”

You see, I was introduced to Beckett’s works by a friend, who’s a writer back in the Philippines. Well, he didn’t introduce me exactly, I was fascinated by his adaptation of Beckett’s play Waiting for Godot.

I have since read a little about the playwright’s work and when I hear somebody else refer to Beckett I’m also impressed and I feel a sense of kinship.

I’m not the only one who attempts getting to know a little bit about some deep writings.

That’s how I react.

I’m not exactly a fan of deep writing, because in reality I’m a simple thinker.

So, while listening to the debate and some complex matters strut across the chamber floor, I struggle.

I get nervous.

I get agitated, because I need to be able to simplify that for my readers.

And occasionally my simple mind simply refuses to imbibe such complexity.

However, I feel better knowing that other reporters are as confused as I am.

Dec. 1, 2010

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized